Alan Stanbury

Alan Stanbury, friend and classmate.


Alan Stanbury’s obituary

Alan Edgar Stanbury was 64 and lived in Rockford he died at 2:27 p.m. Thursday, April 29, 2010, in SwedishAmerican Hospital. He was born to Edgar and Irene (Kinney) Stanbury. Alan married Lori Ruskavage on June 10, 1967 in Grace Methodist Chapel in Rockford

He was a journeymen carpenter and past member of Carpenters Local 792. He belonged to Bellstone Quarry and he also enjoyed the outdoors, including fishing, boating, gardening, camping and the Chicago Cubs. Alan loved his trade, building and making custom fishing rods and lures.

He served in his community as the treasurer of the Neighborhood Watch group, and was very proud of his children. Alan loved being a “papa” to his grandchildren.

Alan is survived by his wife, Lori; son, Sean (Anna Ralls) Stanbury; daughters, Carrie (Chad) Becker and Kelly (Andrew Otto) Stanbury; grandchildren, Jarred, Cameron, Vivian, Dakota, Nathan, Barrett and Jacob; mother, Irene Kinney; brother, Gregory (Paula) Stanbury.

Alan was predeceased by his father, Edgar. Alan was very loved by his family and will be missed dearly.

Service will be at 6 p.m. Tuesday, May 4, in Wilbur Christenson Funeral Home and Cremation Services Ltd., 925 Third Ave., with visitation from 5 p.m. to service time. Cremation will be after the service.

In lieu of flowers, memorials to the family.

Here’s a link to his obituary from the Rockford Register Star.

Saturday when I heard that Alan had died I got a call from Sandy Harris. It turns out she and Alan were childhood friends, they used to play together and she was nice enough to send me her thoughts about the boy who lived “next door.” My heartfelt thanks go to you, Sandy,  for allowing me to share your thoughts about your old friend.

“After having just read Alan’s obituary, one recurring thought seemed to roil through my head, “Why did I not keep in touch with him?” He made a difference in my life and I never told him that. I wish I would have.

My family and Alan’s family shared many levels of friendship when we lived on Arthur Ave. a couple of blocks away from each other. My mother, Betty Harris and Irene were good friends during the early sixties and on. My father, John Harris and Alan shared the craft of carpentry and Alan would come to my house and just chat with my dad about many  things. My sister, Jan Foust went to school with Greg.

Very importantly, in the big picture is that Alan and I were good friends during those grade school and junior high years when we were all trying to figure out who we were and what  life was really about.

Alan was always a nice guy, a good listener, and caring person. He always had a big smile and could always make me laugh. He was just one of those people we feel lucky to have had in our lives. Over the years our paths did not cross and I lost touch with him and his family.

My sympathy and caring goes out to his family who were blessed to have had Alan in their lives.

Sandy Harris Eakes- Grand Island, Nebraska

I just got word that Alan Stanbury, our friend and classmate died on Thursday, April 29, 2010. He was 64 years old. I talked with Joe Musso this morning and this afternoon I got an email from Shirley saying Jeannine saw his obituary in the newspaper.

Sunday, May 2, 2010. Rockford Newspaper says the funeral arrangements are pending at Wilbur Christenson Funeral Home in Rockford.

There’s nothing on the Rockford newspaper web site yet but as soon as I get something I’ll put it up here.

If anyone has a little story they’d like to share about Alan send it to me and I’ll put it up here.





This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Alan Stanbury

  1. sean stanbury says:

    yes,big al has passed,thank you all for your love and support,this is a really big shock to our family,the obituary and funeral arrangements are in the paper today.thank you,god bless.

Add your new comment here. Thanks